Roundup: Legos and Homecoming Queens and apps and Yes and everything

Well, the blog has fallen into a bit of disrepair lately, but I’m happy to have had an active online presence recently, with a variety of cool projects.

  • I published a chapbook, Yes, through Parallel Press.  It’s a collection of poems about family life and/or the weather, and, as the title suggests, is perhaps more optimistic than a lot of today’s glum verse.
  • I made a video of a “code poem” for Alaska Quarterly Review.  The code itself was published in a special genre-bending section of the hard-copy issue.  But it was cool to show how the program, written in BASIC, actually looks on a screen, with an awesome soundtrack by Steev Baker.
  • I made an app!  It’s called More Than 25 Million Poems about the Midwest, based on the project that appeared in Verse Wisconsin a few years back.  Again, the soundtrack was done by Steev and you can listen to much of it (and Steev’s other awesome music) here.  The app is free to download to your iDevice.  There are at least 23 million poems left to be written!

I’ve also published my first flash fictions over the past several months.  They’re all driven by the same concept:  I’m writing about jobs that don’t exist.  A few of them are online:

And of course, I’m happy to continue to publish poetry.

I’ve chosen to abandon my clunky, circa-2005 website, so I’ll be updating this more frequently in the future.  My novella-in-verse I got off the train at Ash Lake is forthcoming soon from sunnyoutside!

Leave a Reply

